Recent comments


Music Review: The Internet

Music Review: The Internet

You are not permitted to download, save or email this image. Visit image gallery to purchase the image.

  1. Entertainment
  2. Music

The Internet. Hive Mind. Columbia Records. ★★★★+

The latest from Grammy-nominated neo-soulsters The Internet is a far cry from their fledgling days as satellites of Odd Future, the controversial yet mercurial rap collective who count Frank Ocean and Tyler, the Creator as alumni.

Their fourth effort, a slinky, slickly-produced affair is the quintet's most focused to date, buttressed by Syd Tha Kid's breathy vocals (which call to mind Aaliyah), and the lithe bass runs of Patrick Paige: Come Over, Look What U Started, and the jaw-dropping Mood, whose blasts of bras s rise and pop like champagne bubbles over a hazy, narcotic fug, more than justify the buzz.

Single download: Mood

For those who like: Thundercat, Frank Ocean, Aaliyah

- John Hayden

Related Stories

Music review: Holly Arrowsmith

Music review: Punch Brothers

The classics: July 30

Mosgiel singer wins four medals

Methchrist (from left) Daniel Bloxham, Benjamin Cochrane and Ollie Trainor. Photo: Supplied

Death and its acolytes

The Klara Kollektiv (from left) Manu Berkeljon, Anna McGregor and Taru Kurki aims to get New...

Trio enjoying musical journeys

Demi Lovate has taken over as sole female Smurf, Smurfette in the upcoming film replacing Katy...

Demi Lovato stable after heroin overdose: reports

Review: Florence and the Machine

Music review: This Sporting Life - Alms For Children

Music review: Cowboy Junkies

The classics: July 23

Chemical Damage, Iain Johnstone on guitar and vocals, Grant Scott on bass and Gary Bent on drums,...

Nod to mental health

MoreSource: Google News Music

No comments